TBR Challenge: Fledgling by Octavia Butler (2005)

This book has been on my TBR for probably the longest of all my books.  My husband heard a NPR review of it sometime in late 2006 and asked me to put it on my TBR list.   Even with a near 2 year wait for this book, I was not disappointed.  The only disappointment I have is that Ms. Butler tragically died in February of 2006 and will not be able to finish the story which she began in Fledgling

Fledgling is not just another vampire tale.  The creativity in which the Ina are introduced is astounding.  The writing beautifully woven to just give the reader enough information to connect to the characters.  Shori is tragic and strong with each stroke of the pen.  

I found Ms. Butler’s story to be one that flowed well.  I was engaged and involved with the lives of Shori and her symbionts.  The first two-thirds of the book had Shori and her symbionts on the run from the murderous racist that annihilated her family.    The last third of the book focused on finding justice.  The final third of the book deals with many societal issues.  Racism.  Crime.  Justice System. 

Overall, Fledgling is a well written, enjoyable book that leaves you wanting more.

One Response to “TBR Challenge: Fledgling by Octavia Butler (2005)”

  1. Seriously, this is the oldest book on your TBR? You mean your “Active” TBR, right? Not the whole house? I have books in my TBR (the active ones) from at *least* 6 years ago. In my house I have unread books from HIGH SCHOOL, that I swear, one day I’m gonna read!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

