P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

This book is several years old, but I had never heard of it until I saw a commercial for the movie.  The commercial made me want to read the book.   I picked it up at the post office and suddenly it became my first book of the year.  The short synopsis is that Holly and Gerry were in love and making a life together.  Holly loses Gerry to a brain tumor.  She is forced to go on alone.  Holly is aided in this journey by Gerry’s letters left for her.  I enjoyed P.S. I Love You as much as I had hoped that I would.  The characters are introduced as subtly as being hit by a bus.  You just jump right into a very emotional point in their lives.  But throughout the book, each character is revealed and examined in many contexts and layers.  I will admit I cried more during this book than any other book that I have ever read.  I cried every time I picked it up, but thankfully I laughed through my tears during some of it.   It is about love, grief, family, but more than anything else, I think it is a book about moving on with life after loss.  

I would recommend this book.  Just make sure that you have some tissues readily available.

4 Responses to “P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern”

  1. It is nice to read a review of P.S. I Love you. I read the book last year and it didn’t move me at all. Maybe I was grouchy for a couple of weeks while reading it or maybe I’m just cold hearted.🙂
    I did laugh a bit but I just felt like there was little to no character development. I really liked the story line, the plot and the idea. I thought the writing was BAD. When I read it I told Lisa, “I think this would make a good movie.” And I hear the movie is great and a real tear jerker. I plan on renting it.

  2. I read this book last year. It had read rave reviews about it. So I sent out for it and read it. I was also terribly disappointed. Like Shawna above me, I thought it was HORRIBLY written. I did not connect at all with the characters and was happy to finish the book. I have been known to sob at books, movies, even commercials! This book did not stir my sensitive heart at all.

    I heard a movie was coming out after I read it. My comments were, “this will probably be the first movie that is better than the book!” I haven’t seen the movie yet, so I can’t confirm what I suspect.😉

    Glad you enjoyed it, though!

  3. I have heard many people have the same reaction as both Shawna and Carrie. I concur the book is not written well at all. This is Ahern’s first novel and she is young so I guess I just took those factors into account while reading and didn’t expect too much.

    The reason it hit me so hard is the subject matter (ie death of a spouse) is a difficult subject for me specifically. So, probably I was identifying with Holly a bit more than normal. I could put myself there easily because it is my nightmare.

    I will say that I felt that the underdeveloped characters was purposeful. I assumed that it was Ahern’s way of showing the selfish nature of grief. I thought that the characters were all a bit one dimensional until the very end when you see they are more than Holly ever realized. In particular, I saw this with Holly and with her family. This may not have been Ahern’s intention, but it is how I approached it during the reading.

  4. I just watched the movie, P.S. I Love You and enjoyed it. The movie did not make me cry either though, which is a bummer because I love a book or a movie that can make me cry.

Leave a Reply

