The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama

Talk to anyone who has known me for more than a couple of years and they’ll be surprised to learn that I read a book about a politician (not counting long dead ones.)  In the last few years I find myself caring more and more, and becoming more interested in what is going on around me. I’ve written letters to my local representatives- something I wouldn’t have even considered 6 years ago. I am still woefully lacking in a political education. I don’t understand a lot of the political process. But I’m trying and, for me, that’s huge.

I started The Audacity of Hope several weeks ago.  The beginning was pretty hard for me because it referenced a lot of political history that I just didn’t know about.   Once of the side effects of pregnancy is that I’m tired all the time, and staying awake to read about political history (however lightly written) was tough. After this section Obama breaks down his feelings on various aspects of our country: education, race, family, and religion among others.  It’s not heavy handed, in fact, it’s very conversational.  I found that the book was making me depressed, not because I didn’t agree, but rather because I DID. It was very hard to ignore the things I’ve been ignoring when someone is pointing them out to you.  Obama doesn’t blatantly blame anyone, but does point out areas where he feels change would be good.  It’s not a book of his position or his platform on any of the topics.  Reading this doesn’t tell me what he’s going to DO, but it does tell you how he FEELS.  This might not be what you’re looking for in a book by a politician. Or, if you’re me, it’s exactly what you’re looking for. It was hard to read but I’m glad I read it.

Cross posted at Books. Lists. Life.

5 Responses to “The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama”

  1. I really loved that book too. Obama is SUCH an amazing person in my opinion, and I agree with most of his positions. You’d probably enjoy his earlier book as well, Dreams From My Father. That one is more of a memori; about his life growing up and what got him to the place he’s at today. I love hearing about other people becoming fans of his because he is my absolute favorite.🙂

  2. I like that this one gave a good picture of his childhood without detouring too much into his personal life. It stayed on topic well. Not that I don’t want to read about his childhood, but it wouldn’t have been the right place.

  3. I totally agree with your review!

  4. Im not finished reading the book but, it’s pretty good so far.

  5. What better book to buy for your private library than the one of the President of the United States who created history.

    Elle

Leave a Reply

