Judy Blume and Sex.

In the past week I’ve finished two books that are similar enough that I’m going to review them together. Both of books of essays, written by women, about being women. Both are about growing up, although different aspects of growing up.

The first one I finished (but the second one I started) was Everything I Needed to Know About Being a Girl I Learned From Judy Blume. 24 essays by various authors on what they learned from Judy Blume’s book and how those lessons helped them to feel normal during adolescence.  Authors include Meg Cabot, Megan Crane, Julie Kenner, Beth Kendrick, Cara Lockwood and Alison Pace. It seems every young girl read Judy Blume at some point and I know I did too. I was really looking forward to discovering that my favorite authors had the same junior high experiences that I did, but quickly discovered that I don’t really remember Judy Blume all that well. My clearest memory is from Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret– “I must, I must, I must increase my bust!”  Nevertheless, this was a fun little book about junior high and high school- if such a thing exists.

The second book of essays was Sex and Sensibility: 28 True Romances from the Lives of Single Women.  I’ve never really been single so this seemed like it would be a fun look at how the other half lived. The single half, that is. I started this one months and months ago, but because of it’s location in my home, I only read it a few pages at a time. Most of the essays were pretty entertaining, if completely different from anything in my experience.  Authors on this one included Jennifer Weiner, Laurie Notaro (this one nearly killed the whole thing for me, Notaro really annoys me), Pam Houston, and Lily Burana. I was a bit surprised at the amount of honesty some well-know authors were willing to put out there- the essays are about sex, after all.

I have a lot more books of essays in my TBR pile.  Essays are great for the pregnant-mother-of-a-toddler attention span.  I have Perfectly Plum, Toddler, Cracks in my Foundation, and quite a few of those annual Best Of essay books.  Of course, I also have a ton of everything else in there as well. I better get reading!

One Response to “Judy Blume and Sex.”

  1. I read a lot of Judy Blume as a pre-teen.

Leave a Reply

