Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

Iron Kissed is the the third book in the Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.  Mercy has a lot going on for her in this one- she’s still got Adam and Samuel competing for her attention, she’s waiting for the other shoe to drop from the vampires (see Blood Bound for details there), and her friend and mentor Zee has landed himself in jail. The fae are willing to sacrifice Zee in order to stay out of the spotlight, but Mercy can’t let that happen, of course.

 I love this series.  It’s getting stronger with every entry. I stayed up way past my bedtime to finish because there was just NO WAY I was going to bed without knowing how it ended. I love that Mercy, who is way underpowered in her circles, manages to get the upperhand  MOST of the time.  Each book goes in a slightly different direction and it does not feel repetitious at all. The Samuel- Adam triangle is resolved beautifully. I love the direction she’s gone with Ben. In fact, Ben plays a pivotal role at the end of this one, in a scene that could not have been done better.  There is a Big Event near the end of this one that has drawn some controversy, but I think it was handled beautifully. I cried, a lot. I don’t think it was pregnancy hormones either. If I were still rating books, which it appears I am NOT, I would give it 5 of 5. I can’t wait for the next one.

3 Responses to “Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs”

  1. I have not read any books by Briggs yet, but she is a author I want to discover. Same with Jim Butcher. Thanks for the review!

  2. […] Lisa reviews Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs. […]

  3. I couldn’t agree more – I finished reading ‘Iron Kissed’ tonight and gasped with last sentence. I read it aloud to my husband and he laughed at me. When does the next book come out?!!?

Leave a Reply

