The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

For someone who doesn’t like YA books, I’ve been reading a lot of them lately. This is another one. It was loaned to me by my neighbor and dear friend, Cobra. This book strikes close to home, since I live in SD, near an Indian Reservation. The main character of the book is Junior. He is a cartoonist so the book is filled with his cartoons. He lives on an Indian reservation but decides he needs a better education and transfers to a “white” school near-by.  This causes him all kinds of problems at home and at school. The subject matter is very depressing but it is written in a funny and “real” way. This is a good book that I think any teenage boy would enjoy and also relate to. I’m not sure if the book is listed as fiction or non-fiction but I’m going to go with non!

3 Responses to “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie”

  1. I read a positive review of this book a few weeks ago and put it on my wishlist. I didn’t realize it was young adult. Anyway, sounds like such an interesting book–can’t remember how reviewer tagged it. Maybe it was Maw Books?

  2. Hey, it’s me! It’s actually fiction although it is loosely based on Alexie’s own life.

  3. I have been recently introduced to Sherman Alexie through my Lit class and I am eating him up. As soon as I can figure out how to sign back on this blog, I will be posting a review of another book of his that will be my final essay for the class.

Leave a Reply

