TBR Day: Naked in Death by J.D. Robb

I was told I just had to read this series almost a decade ago.  In fact, annually one or two friends would say, “You haven’t read them yet.”  I just never did.  This month I chose to jump into the series head first for the TBR Day Challenge.   I read the first two books in the series, Naked in Death and Glory in Death.

I enjoyed the books and can’t wait to read more.  Roarke is mysterious and exciting.  I love his passion for life and for Eve.  Eve is a great main character.  Strong with just a touch of vunerability.  One of the best aspects is that there are hints of Eve’s past and her situation, but it is not what the book is about.  The main mystery of the book takes center stage and doesn’t get overshadowed by Eve’s past. 

The crime solving mystery is outstanding.  I loved the twists and digging for the truth. It was complex enough that I was able to guess the some of the details but not all of them.   The crimes were interesting and Eve’s passion for the victims made the stories interesting.

My initial hesitation at some of the technology used in their future has been calmed.  While I still don’t think it is all plausible, I don’t get hung up on it anymore.   

Great books.  I am excited that there are plenty for me to read without waiting for the new one to come out. 

 

2 Responses to “TBR Day: Naked in Death by J.D. Robb”

  1. The great thing about the series, or one of the great things, is that some of the books ARE about their past. They still have a mystery to figure out, but they are really fully developed characters with complicated pasts that sometimes come up. Like any series, she has some phrases she repeats but so long as you don’t read them all at once you should be ok. I’m so glad you’re finally reading them!

  2. Ahhhh – you are in for SUCH a treat with the In Death books. There is so much that is good about them. It’s fascinating watching Eve slowly grow and change as a person while still keeping what makes her Eve. She slowly begins opening up as a person and allow more people into her life reluctantly – but that’s Eve. And it’s also great seeing a marriage in progress – seeing two people who love each other so much, but come from such diverse backgrounds melding and growing.

Leave a Reply

